248 358-6647

Free Consultations 24/7

MICHIGAN DUI LAWYER

Practice Areas >> Michigan DUI Lawyer

OWI INFORMATION

Michigan DUI charges include Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD), and Unlawful Bodily, or Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level (UBAC/UBAL). An individual convicted of a DUI faces license suspension, jail time and hefty fines. First time offenders can be sentenced to jail.

Individuals who are convicted of DUI may face serious consequences, including license suspension, jail time, and costly fines. Even a first-time offender may be subjected to the disastrous consequences of a DUI. The best way to beat a drunk driving charge is by obtaining the services of a skilled Michigan DUI lawyer. Attorney Carl Jordan has successfully represented numerous clients faced with the threat of a DUI conviction.

MICHIGAN DRUNK DRIVING OFFENSES

Operating While Intoxicated (OWI)
Alcohol or drugs in your body substantially affected your ability so you could not operate a motor vehicle safely. OWI can also mean that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was at or above the legal limit. OWI is the most common and least serious offense. You may be subject to fines, court costs, jail time and the possibility of community service if found guilty.

Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI)
Your inability to operate a motor vehicle was visible to the arresting officer, most likely due to the presence of alcohol or other drugs in your body. You may be subject to fines, court costs, jail time and the possibility of community service if found guilty.

Operating With Any Presence of a Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD)
Even if you don't appear intoxicated or impaired, if you have even a trace of these drugs in your blood (as determined by a chemical test of your blood, breath, or urine), you can be charged.

UBAC/UBAL, or Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level
Subjects you to the same penalties as OWVI, the difference being that you will be required to perform community service.

WHAT IF YOU ARE A SECOND OR THIRD TIME OFFENDER?
Regardless of the offense you are accused of, second- and third-time offenders face penalties, which are substantially harsher than those for a first-time offender. The negative impact does not stop at penalties; depending on the situation, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, attend a drunk driving program, or even lose a professional license. A conviction can literally ruin your career, future employment opportunities, and reputation.

PENALTIES FOR DUI OFFENSES

OWI First Offense
Up to 93 days in jail, fines of $100 to $500, 360 hours (45 days) community service, vehicle immobilization at the court's discretion, possible ignition interlock device during probation.

OWI Second Offense
Jail time of 5 days to one year, fines of $200 to $1,000, minimum 30 days community service (maximum 90 days), possible ignition interlock device during probation, mandatory vehicle immobilization.

OWI Third Offense
Prison time of one to five years, fines of $500 to $5,000, minimum 30 days probation with jail (maximum of one year), minimum 60 days community service (maximum 180 days), possible ignition interlock device during probation, mandatory vehicle immobilization.

OWVI First Offense
Up to 93 days in jail, fines of up to $300, 360 hours (45 days) community service, vehicle immobilization at the court's discretion.

OWVI Second Offense
Jail time of 5 days to one year, fines of $200 to $1,000, minimum 30 days community service (maximum 90 days), mandatory vehicle immobilization.

OWVI Third Offense
Prison time of one to five years, fines of $500 to $5,000, minimum 30 days probation with jail (maximum one year), minimum 60 days community service (maximum 180 days), mandatory vehicle immobilization.

UBAC/UBAL, Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level, First Offense
Up to 93 days in jail, 360 hours (45 days) community service, fines of up to $500.

UBAC/UBAL, Second Offense
Up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, 360 hours (45 days) community service.

OWI Causing Death
Prison time of 15 years, fines of $2,500 to $10,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization. If a firefighter or police officer dies, it is considered a violation of 257.653a. Penalties for this crime are the same other than you will be sentenced to 20 years in prison.

OWI Causing Serious Injury
Prison time of five years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization.

Driver's License Suspension
Every DUI crime is penalized by license suspension, which is handed down by the SOS (Secretary of State). If you are a first-time offender and convicted of OWI, your license will be suspended for 30 days, followed by 150 days of restricted driving privileges.


Strong Defense From a Michigan DUI Lawyer
As a former prosecutor Attorney Carl Jordan has experience prosecuting crimes and defending crimes. That makes him uniquely qualified to understand how a Michigan prosecutor will approach your case. He will aggressively fight your drunk driving or drugged driving charges.

Contact Attorney Carl Jordan Now
Don’t trust your Michigan DUI case to a rookie or a general-practice lawyer. Mr. Jordan has the experience and skill necessary to protect you from the harsh penalties you face when charged with a DUI in Michigan. His dedication, skill, experience and aggressive approach make him an outstanding choice for your DUI defense. His top priority is to defend your legal rights and protect you from a conviction. If it is impossible to avoid a conviction he will work to minimize the negative impact a drunk driving offense can have on your life.